first_imgNew Zealand, after getting decimated 3-0 in the Test series against India, now move on to the second leg of their tour wherein they play five one-day internationals starting October 16. (Suresh Raina ruled out of India’s first ODI against New Zealand) India under MS Dhoni’s captaincy will be high on confidence while on the other hand the Black Caps will be eyeing redemption before they leave Indian shores. In the last two ODI series both teams have played, the honours were even and this time the onus will be on New Zealand having lost the last series 5-0 in India. Let’s have a look at how the last two ODI series between India and New Zealand turned out: India vs New Zealand (2010-11): India completed a clean sweep of New Zealand in the five-match ODI series in the absence of MS Dhoni. Gautam Gambhir led the side with aplomb. India won the first one-dayer by 40 runs in Guwahati after setting a target of 277 for New Zealand to win and the tourists managed only 236 runs. Virat Kohli scored a hundred and then S Sreesanth, Ravichandran Ashwin and Yuvraj Singh finished with three wickets each. In the second match in Jaipur, India again finished on top by beating New Zealand by eight wickets (with 42 balls remaining). Gambhir (138*) and Sreesanth (4-47) starred for the hosts. (India whitewash New Zealand: What Kohli’s men did right) Riding on skipper Gambhir’s second century of the series, India took an unassailable 3-0 lead by beating the Kiwis by nine wickets in the third ODI in Vadodara. In the fourth match in Bangalore, New Zealand put in to bat slammed a daunting 315 but India too put their best foot forward by chasing down the total and winning the match by five wickets. Partiv Patel scored 53 and down the order Yusuf Pathan slammed an unbeaten 123 to guide India home. India completed the clean sweep in Chennai when they thrashed the tourists by eight wickets. New Zealand, batting first, were bowled out for 103 and India chased down the total with 173 balls remaining.   India vs New Zealand (2013-14): New Zealand had their revenge for the ODI series loss in India by thrashing India 4-0 in the five-match series, with one match ending in a tie. The hosts started the series by winning the first one-dayer in Napier by 24 runs. Put in to bat, New Zealand scored 292 runs with Kane Williamson, Ross Taylor and Corey Anderson notching up half-centuries. In the chase, India could get to 268 with Kohli scoring a century. In the rain-truncated second match, New Zealand beat India by 15 runs via D/L method. (Kohli presented with ICC Test Championship mace, calls it ‘special’) Opener Martin Guptill slammed a 129-ball 111 as New Zealand put up 314 run on the board and India did well to tie the third match, thanks to fifties from Dhoni, Ashwin and Ravindra Jadeja. In the remaining two matches, New Zealand did not give India a chance to claw back by winning the fourth and fifth ODIs by seven wickets and 87 runs respectively.advertisementlast_img

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *